Ipsy April Glam Bag

B (2)

Ipsy

April Glam Bag

One thing I’ve really been STOKED about coming to the US was that I could order a lot more thing online! And one of the things that I was interested in were subscription boxes. Nowadays there are countless subscription boxes, from boxes with nerdy goodness to Japanese candy. Although both of those boxes sound fun, I wanted to try out beauty subscription boxes first, and since it was my very first one, I wanted to go with one that had great ratings.

Of the ones I found online, Ipsy was one of the most affordable subscription boxes, and it was also one of the ones that had the best ratings. Founded by beauty YouTuber Michelle Phan, Ipsy is a beauty subscription system that sends out a makeup bag – the Ipsy Glam Bag – each month with five sample or full size beauty products for only $10!. Brands that are included in these bags are Nyx, Tarte, Nudestix, and even em cosmetics, Michelle Phan’s beauty brand.

My very first Ipsy Glam Bag arrived today, the 13th, which is right about the middle of the month. I had heard some things about Ipsy being late to some subscribers, but everyone else in my area who was subscribed got their bags today.

All products are linked!

The products I received are:

Tarte Cosmetics – LipSurgence Lip Creme in Wonder
Luxie Beauty – Dreamcatcher Tapered Highlighter Brush 522
Starlooks – Cream Eye Shadow in Rose Gold
Moroccanoil – Moroccanoil Treatment
Jor’el Parker – Fango Face Mask

B (10)

I really liked the colour of the Tarte lip creme, it is quite vibrant, which I like. Although it’s called a “lip creme,” I feel like the name makes me think of liquid lipsticks, like Nyx’s soft matte lip cream. This is more like a lip crayon. Don’t get me wrong though, cos I love lip crayons just as much as I love liquid lipsticks.

B (5)B (7)

I was pleased to find that my Glam Bag had a brush included, because unlike the beauty samples, which I can run out of, brushes last way longer. The brush was incredibly soft, which I liked. I don’t really highlight my face too much though, so I might use it more for my eye makeup or just blending throughout my face.

B (8)B (9)

I have mixed feelings about the Starlooks liquid eye shadow. I haven’t really tried a liquid eye shadow before, so this should be interesting. I tried the formula out on the back of my hand, and it does feel a tad bit sticky if used in clumps, but if you use small amounts and spread it out well, it’s an nice and iridescent colour that should be good for daily makeup looks.

B (11)

I have previously used Moroccanoil, so I can say that it’s a pretty good brand. I’ve used it before, only on the tips of my hair, and it works great for settling frizzy hair or giving your hair a boost when it’s cold and dry outside. It has a nice, not too strong scent, which I like about the product.

B (4)

I haven’t ever heard of the brand Jor’el Parker, so I was really happy to find it in my bag. The point of subscribing to Ipsy was to get a chance to try out different products without spending too much, so new brands to discover are always welcome. I haven’t opened this mask, because I feel like since this is a sample, one use will be it, and I want to save it for another day, when I feel like my skin needs a pick-me-up and will do a full review once I do try it out.

Overall, I was satisfied with the contents of my Glam Bag. There’s a couple brands I recognize, some new ones to try out, and all of these are things that I definitely see myself using often.

Can’t wait for the next month’s Glam Bag.

Yours Truly,

Diane,

Also known as Hey June.

 

B (3)

5 thoughts on “Ipsy April Glam Bag

Leave a Reply

