Make Up Look: Soft Summer Look

C (3)

Monday

It was really hot around here for the last week or so, but the weather has gotten increasingly nicer and now when I go out I can feel a nice breeze lifting my mood. On Friday I went out with my friends to visit Antigua Guatemala, a colonial city that used to be the capital of Guatemala back when it was a colony of Spain. Now it’s a popular tourist site and it’s a great place to visit if you’re around since it’s only about an hour away from the city. The architecture retains its beauty after years and the markets are always fun to visit.

So to match my makeup to the incredibly weather and my uplifted mood, I created this rose-gold and orange based look for the spring and summer months. This look is incredibly basic and simple, because it’s a really easy look for when you want to get dolled up but want to keep it light.

All products are linked!

C (2)

First I started with the Innisfree No-Sebum Blur Primer all over my face. I like this primer because it has more of a silicone-like texture, which I prefer because I have oily skin, especially during the warmer months.

Then I applied a layer of Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunscreen, Broad Spectrum SPF 30. This is one of my favourite sun creams because it isn’t as sticky and greasy as others (Of course, as the SPF value rises, even this product feels a bit gooey). It has a clean sort of scent, it’s hard to describe.

I applied a generous coat of Smith’s Minted Rose Lip balm  all over my lips to prep them for later while giving the sun cream a second or two to settle.

Then I applied a thin layer of It Cosmetics Your Skin But Better CC Cream in Light. This CC cream spreads so well that a little goes a looong way. Then I used the Revlon Photoready concealer in 003 under my eyes, on my forehead, my nose, around the red area next to the nose, and on my cheeks. I patted both products in rather than rubbing because it provides better coverage and the primer doesn’t shift around.

Then I used the Tony Moly Aqua Aura Moist Finish Pact SPF 25 PA++ in #2 Skin Beige with a brush to set all the base makeup on my face. Then I used the Nyx Matte Bronzer in Light to add more definition to my face, in the hollows of my cheeks, under my jawline, and my temples and hairline area. I used the Real Techniques Expect Face Brush for this because I don’t want to make harsh angles. I have a really round face, which is normal in Asians, so I try to use bronzers to add more soft subtle angles to my face. Then I used the Real Techniques Sculpting Brush to apply the A’Pieu Pastel Blusher in CR 03 to the apples of my cheeks fading into the sides of my cheekbones.

Then I used the SkinFood Choco Powder Eyebrow Wood Pencil in #3 Grey to fill in my eyebrows and define them more. I used a very soft hand when doing this because I wanted this makeup look to look gentle and breezy.

IMG_4154

For my eyes, I used the Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette with the included brush and the Glamour Dolls Blending Brush #10 Sperm Whale edition that I got in my Ipsy May Glam Bag. I started off by applying the colour Burnout which is a satin peach-pink all over  my lids. Then I used Trick, which is a shimmery bronze-copper in the outer corners of my eyes. I applied the shade dust which is a bright pink, the most shimmery shade of the palette, to the centre of my eyelids and 1/3 of the lower lash line, around the inner corner of the eye to brighten up the eyes and open them a little. I used a bright blue eyeshadow (the one I used is from Inglot) to line the lower lash line near the outer corner of the eye to add a pop of colour. I wish I had used a brighter one; I’ve seen some in the ColourPop in Bloom Spring Collection that I really like. I only do this sometimes, but I took the Nyx Wonder Pencil in Light and Lined the outer edge of my water line with it to open my eyes up a little more.

C (1)

Then I used the Stila All Day Waterproof Liquid Eye Liner in Black (Jet Black) to line my eyes and make a slight wing. Because I have monolids, I don’t really put too much effort into lining the entire eye, but more on the outer corner. For this look I used what I call a “straight wing,” which is basically drawing a straight line starting from almost the centre of the eyelid and then bringing the line up to meet with this straight line. Then, instead of a cat eye, you get more of an elongated eye line.

I didn’t apply mascara because I personally don’t like mascara too much. I am considering trying them out though, because I have really sparse and short lashes.

One of my favourite parts of makeup is the lip, because I feel like a good lip ties up the look perfectly. I used the L’Oreal Color Riche Matte Lipstick in 227 (Hype). This is a bright, almost neon orange. Because my skin is warm toned, I look best in orange or coral shades, and this particular colour is one of my favourites to wear in the warmer months.

I finished off the look with a couple spritzes of the Urban Decay Stay All Nighter Makeup Setting Spray. I love this spray and couldn’t live without it because especially in the summer, this beauty helps my makeup stay put regardless of what I’m doing.

 

And that’s it! This is a simple, basic look that you would like to rock if you don’t feel like going all out on your makeup and want to enjoy the sun and breeze of the transition between spring and summer, when everything starts getting greener and the weather warmer.

Have a lovely day!

 

Yours Truly,

Diane,

Also known as Hey June.

6 thoughts on “Make Up Look: Soft Summer Look

  1. Oh I just love this look! I don’t personally like mascara that much either, but to be honest I didn’t even think about mascara when I saw this look, it looks just as well without it. The mascara I use is the L’Oreal Butterfly one, I find it makes them feathery and seems to separate them and add more volume, while still looking light, so you might enjoy that one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

