Makeup Look: Mononoke Hime

원령공주 (17)

Monday

Ghibli Studio movies defined a huge portion of my childhood, and to this day they hold a special place in my heart. Today I decided to try a makeup look inspired by San from Mononoke Hime (Princess Mononoke). Mononoke Hime is a story of humans in different sides of the battle between humans and nature. San is a young girl that was abandoned by humans but hasn’t been fully accepted by nature. Throughout the story she learns to trust Ashitaka as she tries to save nature from humans’ destruction. It was incredibly fun to bring to life a character from a movie, and this particular look had a great reaction on Instagram (Follow me @itsheyjune). I’m really excited to do more fun looks like this!

원령공주 (3)

원령공주 (8)

All products are linked!

I’ll put more detail into this post since it’s a lot more special than what I usually do.

I started off normally, priming my T zone with my Innisfree No Sebum Blur Primer and prepping my lips with EOS Mint Lip Balm. Then I applied my IT Cosmetics Your Skin But Better CC Cream all over my face. Recently I’ve been using my Real Techniques Expert Face Brush to apply my CC cream because I feel like it just spreads so much more evenly on my face like that and the size is perfect for big and small areas of the face (on a side note, my friend is bringing me a couple of makeup sponges from Korea soon so be on the lookout for a review of those!). Then I covered up my dark circles, the redness around my nose, on my forehead and the dark spots around my lips with my Revlon Photoready Concealer in 003 Light Medium. I also used some on my eyelids instead of eye shadow primer.

I used a fluffy brush to contour my nose bridge, around my nose, and on my nasal septum to define my nose. When I shade my septum it gives an illusion of a longer nose tip. I didn’t use any blush for this look, but pat everything down with the Tony Moly Aqua Moist Sun Pact in 02 Skin Beige.

Then I used my Wycon Precision Eyebrow Definer in 003 Dark Brown to shape my eyebrows, I didn’t really re-shape my eyebrows but just defined them and made them look arched and angry to fit San’s stern face.

Then I applied a light brown shade all over my lid and then used a flat eye shadow brush with Kiko Milano Eyeshadow in 137 Pearly Copper, which is a muted red with a pearly shimmer, on my lid closer to my lash line, adding more on the outer corner of my eye. Then I used a fluffy brush and the same eye shadow to blend out the shadow on the outer corner of my eye. Then I used a smaller flat eye shadow brush to apply the same eye shadow on the outer third of my lower lash line. I added a bit of green eye shadow (I used one from Inglot) on my upper lid closer to the inner corner of my eye…because I felt like it. Then I used the NYX Wonder Pencil in Light to line the inner third of my waterline to brighten up my eyes. Then I used an angled brush and black eye shadow to make a sharp wing.

원령공주 (18)

원령공주 (9)

Then I used a bigger flat eye shadow brush and the same red Kiko eyeshadow to make two long inverted triangles on my cheeks and a smaller one on my forehead. This is the most important part of this makeup look. These triangles came out pretty messy, so I carved out straighter lines using my concealer. Stick concealers are perfect for this job, but you could also use a pot concealer with a good brush.

For my lips I used a little bit of my E.L.F. Matte Lip Color in Rich Red in the inner part of my lips. As you can see in these pictures, it’s a very pink-toned red. When you apply more it does look redder.

It’s always nice to use a setting spray at the end, especially in the summer, but I skipped it today because I did this makeup look just for this post.

 

원령공주 (5)

원령공주 (7)

 

원령공주 (10)

 

원령공주 (16)
I don’t think he likes me too much 😦

원령공주 (19)

 

원령공주 (1)

 

And this is my Mononoke Hime San makeup look! Hope you like it 🙂

I appreciate every like, comment, and follow! Check out my social media too, they’re in the sidebar 🙂

 

Yours Truly,

Diane,

Also known as Hey June.

 

5 thoughts on “Makeup Look: Mononoke Hime

Leave a Reply

