Base Makeup Routine

Wednesday

Recently I’ve been using the same products and same routine for my base makeup for all my looks, and I always referred people to older makeup looks to see my base makeup routine. I thought it would be a good idea to make a post dedicated to my base makeup routine nowadays so I could have a more detailed post for it.

So let’s start!

I always start with my Innisfree No Sebum Blur Primer, applying very small amounts to my T-zone and the area on my cheeks near my nose. Sometimes I also apply some on my chin.

I like to prep my lips with my Smith’s Minted Rose Lip Balm or my EOS Mint Lip Balm because my lips get chapped very easily. I really like Smith’s Minted Rose Lip Balm, I’m almost through one tin case!

Then I apply Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry Touch Sunscreen in SPF 30 all over my face. Even on days I don’t wear makeup I always apply this. I cannot stress enough how important SPF is; it protects your face from the harmful rays of the sun.

I’ve been using the It Cosmetics Your Skin But Better CC Cream SPF50+ as my “foundation.” It’s got a lot more coverage than I’m used to because I used to go for CC creams that were very lightweight, but it feels less heavy when applying it in thinner layers. I like to use CC cream only for colour correcting, and concealer  for coverage. I spread a very small amount of this CC cream on my face in little dots and then use the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush  to spread it all over my face. When doing this, I don’t usually put any product directly on my nose; instead, I use what’s left on the brush after spreading the CC cream all over the rest of my face to get the lightest coverage because my nose gets cakey too easily.

Then I use the Revlon Photoready Concealer in 003 to get better coverage. I swipe it under my eyes, next to my nose in the reddish area, next to the ends of my lips, on my cheeks, on my forehead, and on my chin. Then I blend it all in using the same Real Techniques Expert Face Brush. When applying concealer to the under eye area, it’s important to not swipe it directly under the eyes, but a little bit below that, and then blending it up. Otherwise it can get cakey and stuck in the thin lines near the eyes.

I use a fluffy powder brush to set my CC cream and concealer with my Tony Moly Aqua Aura Moist Finish Pact in 002 Skin Beige. I try to use a very light hand; I really want to avoid cakey finishes.

Then I use my NYX Matte Bronzer in Light to define my face. I use another Real Techniques Expert Face Brush and pick up just a small amount of product because I like slowly building up the colour. When actually applying he bronzer, I smile to find the spot where the bronzer should go. When I smile, there’s a small dent high up below my cheekbone, and I like to further accentuate that space so I go in sideways right on that spot. I also brush some on my jawline and on the sides of my hairline to make my face seem smaller, and use a smaller fluffy brush (eye shadow brush) to define my nose bridge and the end of my nose, shading my septum too to make my nose look more defined.

Then I use my A’PIEU Pastel Blusher CR03 and my Real Techniques Sculpting Brush to add a soft pink hue to the apples of my cheeks, blending upwards towards my cheekbones.

 

And that’s how my base makeup is done nowadays! I’ve been doing the same routine because I only brought what I needed to Guatemala – the rest of my makeup is in Rochester, so this routine will probably change when I return to the US. I’m also planning on buying some new concealers to use instead of CC cream soon so I’ll keep you updated with that!

Thank you so much for reading!

 

 

Yours Truly,

Diane,

Also known as Hey June.

2 thoughts on “Base Makeup Routine

  1. I’ve been wanting to try the It Cosmetics CC cream – what shade do you use?
    The Revlon Photoready concealer is one of my favourites for spot concealing – I’ve not tried it under my eyes since I worry it would look too dry there. I’ll have to test it one day to see.
    I like reading what other people use and what order they apply their base makeup!

    Like

    • I use the shade Light! I sometimes feel like I could have also gone a shade lighter and it would have worked. I didn’t feel like the Revlon concealer was too drying, but it might also have to do with the fact I have oily skin. Thank you so much for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

