Makeup Look: Fishtail Eyeliner

Fishtail Cover (67)

Friday

Hello friends! I have been experimenting with different types of eyeliner wing, including the puppy wing look that I posted a while ago (You can check them out the puppy wing vs cat wing post, click here). Today I have another interesting wing liner look, and oddly enough, I seem to be following an “animal” theme when it comes to eyeliner, because the look I’m writing about today is a “fishtail eyeliner.”

Fishtail b (43)

The fishtail eyeliner is a double wing eyeliner look. I knew about this type eyeliner since a long time ago, but this is the first time that I tried it out myself, so it might look a bit odd, but bear with me.

As usual, all proucts are linked!

Fishtail b (62)

 

First we have to start out with the basics. I prepped my lips with the Smith’s Rose Mint Lip Balm, and primed my face using my Innisfree No Sebum Blur Primer. Then I spread a light layer of my L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte 24-HR Foundation in 103 Natural Buff on my face, using my Olive Young Makeup Sponge to blend it out. Then I used my Revlon Photoready Concealer in 003 Light to cover up my dark circles and to lighten up red spots around my face.

Purple b (14)

Then I set my face using my Tony Poly Aqua Aura Moist Sun Pact in 02 Skin Beige. I used my NYX Matte bronzer to make a small parallelogram on my cheek to make it appear less round. Then I used my A’Pieu Pastel Blusher in CR03 and applied it very lightly to my cheekbones, sweeping it towards the outside of my face. Then I used my Glamour Dolls Blending Brush #10 Sperm Whale edition to contour my nose using the Jelly Pong Pong Cosmetics Bronzer Duo in Aruba in the contouring shade. I started at my eyebrows and continued down my nose to make my nose appear smaller and taller. Then I also shaded my septum to make the tip of my nose look longer.

For my brows, I used my Inglot brown eye shadow and an angled brush to make a slightly arched eyebrow.

Fishtail b (24)

For the eye makeup I used (as usual) my Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette. First I spread the shade “Strange,” which is a white matte (or satin) shade all over my lid. Then I used the shade “Buzz,” a shimmery pink shade, and spread it on the lower half of my lid, blending it in with “Strange.” Then I used the shade “Trick,” which a shimmery copper orange and pushed it into the outer half of my lid. I made a harsh outline for the eye shadow on purpose for a more “scaly” like look.
Fishtail b (25)

Then comes the interesting part: the actual eyeliner. A fishtail eye line wing is harder to achieve with liquid eyeliner, which is the only type I use because of my eye shape. Instead, opt for pencil or gel liner, or black eye shadow and an angled brush, like I chose to use. First you start out with a thick puppy wing (this would be a good time to check out the puppy wing look tutorial I wrote: click here). Then you make a smaller puppy wing on the lower lash line, leaving a small triangle between the two wings. Make sure to make a thin line along the lower lash line too so the lower wing doesn’t look like it’s floating.

Finish it off with a brush of the shade “dust,” a pale and very shimmery pink on the inner half of the lower lash line.

For my lips, I used my Tony Tint in Cherry Pink to make a harsh and glossy gradient lip.

Set everything with a bit of Urban Decay’s All-Nighter makeup setting spray, and we’re done!

Fishtail b (3)

Fishtail b (9)

 

Fishtail b (14)

 

 

Fishtail b (33)

Fishtail b (34)

Fishtail b (45)Fishtail b (52)Fishtail b (48)

 

As usual, thank you so much for reading, and I appreciate every like, comment, and follow! I’m soon heading out back to the US, so when I finally get back and have my personal photographer (read: wonderfru boifriend) with me again, I will at last be able to start posting about fashion. I claim to be a beauty, fashion, and lifestyle blog, but I have barely posted anything about fashion. But worry not; I plan on changing that as soon as I get back and I can start posting outfits and lookbooks.

Make sure to come back on Monday for another post, and I hope you guys have a great weekend!

 

Yours Truly,

Diane;

Also known as Hey June.

7 thoughts on “Makeup Look: Fishtail Eyeliner

Leave a Reply

