I Watch: 10 Things I Hate About You

10_Things_I_Hate_About_You_film.jpg

Friday

Hello friends! Today I want to talk to you guys about one of my favourite movies of all time, 10 Things I Hate About You. This is a 1999 drama/teen film starring Heath Ledger, Julia Stiles, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, and Larisa Oleynik. It’s based on William Shakespeare’s The Taming of the Shrew and it follows the story of Katarina and Bianca Stratfort, and the men that want to date them for one reason or another.

Kat, the main character, is an atypical rebellious, angsty, smart, and smart-mouthed teenager. She reads Simone the Beauvoir and listens to girl bands, and she hates every “unwashed miscreant” that attends her high school, Padua High School. Among these miscreants is her younger sister, Bianca Stratford, the social butterfly that all men at Padua yearn to date. Then the army brat Cameron James is added to the scene at Padua High, and he soon joins the crowd of men wishing to date Bianca. But Bianca is not allowed to date anybody unless Kat does, and since Kat does not find any of the guys at Padua even remotely attractive, it is up to Cameron to come up with an ingenious way to get somebody to ask Padua’s Shrew out on a couple dates.

The reason that I love this movie so much is Kat’s personality. She is smart, confident, and she does not need to fit in to anybody’s standards. I love these types of characters, a fact that can be supported by my love for the character Daria in the eponymous TV show.

I spent most of my high school life trying to be fit in, to find the coolest version of myself that I could be, and to be completely honest, I think I failed. I did not fail completely, since I did “discover” important parts of myself during high school, but I never reach the level of confidence that Kat struts around Padua with, and I wish that I had watched this movie just a bit sooner.

And while Kat’s outbursts filled with “big words” are incredibly entertaining, my absolute favourite scene in the whole movie is definitely the serenade scene. There is a scene in which Patrick Verona, the main character and Kat’s love interest throughout the movie, serenades Kat with the song “Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You” by Frank Sinatra, while accompanied by the school marching band. He takes over the PA system in the football field during Kat’s team’s practice, and he manages to get through most of the song before the security guards come after him. That scene is my favourite because 1) I love Frank Sinatra and that song in particular, 2) It was so incredibly and unrealistically romantic.

I guess a big part of the reason I love this movies is that this movie was unrealistic enough for me to enjoy it without thinking too much, but it was also realistic enough so that I could aspire to be like the characters, more specifically Kat. I could watch this movie two, three times in a row and it would make me equally happy, and I would not want to skip a single scene.

I could continue talking about this movie for an eternity, but I want you guys to watch the movie, rather than have me narrate the entirety of it to you. It’s a great movie, and my best description of the movie is not even close to how amazing it really is. I hope you guys enjoy this movie as much as I do, and I hope that you guys all one day become as self-assured and assertive as Kat.

 

Yours Truly,

Diane;

Also Known As Hey June.

3 thoughts on “I Watch: 10 Things I Hate About You

Leave a Reply

