I Visit: Jeonju, Korea + Quick Update

Thursday

Hello friends!

It’s about time for a little update of my travels in Korea, isn’t it? It’s been a busy couple weeks, what with all the business we had to take care of in Korea. I’ve gone out shopping downtown twice (I think) now and I have a massive haul that you guys can look forward to soon. I raided Etude House, Innisfree, Aritaum, to name a few. I’m so excited to show you!

Anyways, a week or so ago my mom and I visited the Jeonju Hanok Village. This is a small village in the city of Jeonju, in the North Jeon-la Province, famous for the traditional korean-style buildings that make up the entire small village. There is a small Korean palace and a couple other spots to visit that are wonderful if you want to walk around a village filled with the beauty of traditional Korean architecture.

There are 3 attraction points in the Hanok village:

1. The Architecture

As I mentioned, the buildings in the Hanok village are all built in traditional Korean style, also known as “Hanok.” Korean architecture has a distinct beauty that is unparalleled to other kinds of buildings, and the Hanok village is a great place to visit to see these.

2. The Food

Another important thing that you can’t miss out on in the Hanok village is the food. Jeonju is famous for its amazing bibimbap, which you can find in the village or anywhere in Jeonju, but in the village, walking down the street there are so many stores lined up that have great snacks. Ranging from handmade dumplings to cane-shaped ice cream, the snacks in the street of Hanok village are interesting and delicious.

 

3. The Hanbok

Remember a couple months ago when I posted an ootd with the Korean traditional dress ‘hanbok’? (Check it out here) In Hanok village, you can rent a hanbok (for both women and men) from any of the stores lining the main streets of the village. It’s not only a unique experience to wear a traditional Korean outfit, but the pictures will turn out awesome.

 

It was my first time in the Hanok village, and I forgot to take my camera so I had to use my phone, and to make matters worse, it rained all day. But still, somehow, the day was still enjoyable and I look forward to the next time I’ll be in the village. Hopefully next time I’ll also have a certain boi with me! 🙂

 

Love,

Diane

signature

One thought on “I Visit: Jeonju, Korea + Quick Update

Leave a Reply

